Netgear N300 / WNR3500L Review

February 11, 2011
By


In this video, I discuss some of the places where this particular router falls short. Keep in mind, it’s a decent router out of the box, but when I went to flash Tomato to resolve a Quality of Service (QoS) issue that I was having with the factory flash, I bricked the router and discovered just how hard it is to un-brick the router.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “ Netgear N300 / WNR3500L Review ”

  1. December707 on February 11, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    i saw ur video review and must say ur realy fuckin dumb i laugh at you

  2. NateN34 on February 11, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    Buddy, I have no clue how you bricked it…..something YOU did wrong. You have to use a special initial flashing firmware file for DDWRT. I have flashed this thing over 20 times….still no brick!

  3. alxconn on February 11, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    @abutler818 I’m not recommending the router based on the ease of turning it into a paperweight. If PCs were easily destroyed when loading the OS I sincerely doubt people would be buying them either if they were billed as an open computing platform. One would assume an Open Router would be at least as easy to un-brick as a Linksys WRT-54G from 8 years ago.

  4. abutler818 on February 11, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    You are not recommending this router because you messed up the aftermarket software you tried to put correct? Try reviewing the router next time and not your mistakes.

  5. friagram on February 11, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    @goochbuntu
    OLD WNR models it auto TFTP @ startup, you just hold reset button down, and as the router restarts, there is like a 2 second window where the router checks for TFTP firmware, all WNR models do this, and always have, so it’s really hard to brick a netgear router.

    Never had to mod a jtag or get ttl cable

  6. goochbuntu on February 11, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    if you buy a usb to ttl 3.3v usb cable you wouldnt need to modify the cable

    t-6 screw driver

    also now on the website shows how to unbrick it with out a cable

  7. dentix on February 11, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    Thanks for the information about the the unbricking. I was thinking about buying this router but now i wont.

  8. Ranny1969 on February 11, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    Hi

    Thanks for sharing your experience. On hindsight I do wish I had viewed your posting before ordering mine. What alternative router will you recommend in place of the Netgear WNR 3500L? Maybe I can still swap my ordered Netgear WNR 3500L for another more suitable brand for dd-wrt installation whenever it arrives.
    Goodluck to yours, I do hope you finally able to salvage your bricked router.
    Ranny

Leave a Reply

Spam Protection by WP-SpamFree